2000-07-03

dear internet,

it's me, scott.

what an interesting (sleep-deprived) weekend, let me tell you. okay! storytime!

thursday afternoon i tried to drive to chicago to visit hammy, but apparently chicago did not want me there, because it took six fucking hours to get there. six! and it should have taken two and a half or three at the most! i think it was the worst traffic ever. but, regardless, it was worth it for liza (that is the only nice thing i will ever say about you, so remember it!), even if the night was as unexpected as they come. going to the apartment of some random chicago waiter with a dingo? uh. weird.

i just realized that i love saying the word 'dingo'. dingo dingo dingo. what a fun word!

friday was my old roommate josh's birthday, so he threw a big party that night. i went, and got to see my 60 (70? i dont know. read: old guy) year old coworker get drunk, cry, and pass out on josh's living room floor. it was actually really sad... he was depressed because his wife of 33 years had died a few years ago, and all of the women that he meets to try to combat his lonliness turn out to be all wrong for him. i felt bad for him. i can't even imagine losing someone i love so much after spending over thirty years of my life with them.

(that is a hint to everyone that i am close to: please never die. thank you.)

i got home late, went to bed, and woke up a few hours later to drive to milwaukee. once again! traffic made the trip twice as long as it shouldve been. i purposefully parked 10 miles away from summerfest grounds, and walked from my car to the festival grounds to see guster play. they were lovely! unfortunately, it seems that at every festival show there is a group of abercrombie-wearing fratboys standing around saying "this band fucking sucks!" and "what a bunch of fags!". whatever.

i walked back to my car. or. tried to. unfortunately, i got lost, and after two hours of walking, decided that i didn't recognize the numerous warehouses i was passing and had no idea where i was. i called my friend christopher, he came and picked me up, took me to my car, and i drove back to madison.

"sleep! ugh," thought i. only to be awoken by my alarm clock a few hours later, reminding me that it was time to get up for church.

i take a shower, get dressed, and drive downtown. strangely enough, there is nobody at church. this pissed me off. to show just how pissed off i was, i went to a bookstore and read a book about photography. (that is what people normally do when they're angry, right?)

so. that was my adventure-filled weekend. it was more fun than i'd had in a long time, though, and i'm happy about almost every minute of it. well. that's not true. but the parts that didn't involve walking around milwaukee's ghetto, or waking up early when i didn't have to, or moving 5mph on the interstate-- those were wonderful.

dingo,
scott.

0.jpg (5464 bytes)
1.jpg (3250 bytes)
2.jpg (4216 bytes)
4.jpg (3917 bytes)


� hosted by
hosted by
DiaryLand.com

previous
next